Natural Rennet

Why do you need Rennet to make cheese?

Rennet makes the proteins in milk to form curd and allows the liquid to separate and runs off as whey. Depending on how much rennet you use in the different cheeses varies because of specific cheese requirements. Some need a firmer curd than others and some need a longer time frame for coagulation. Curds for each cheese are different.

What is Natural Rennet?

  • It is a cocktail of digestion enzymes produced in the stomach's mucosa of mammals like calf, goat or sheep
  • It is developed and adapted by nature over millions of years.
  • It is the ideal enzyme combination for the cheese-making process.
  • Brings best development of flavour and taste into the cheese.
  • Brings highest possible yield because of ideal gel-formation during coagulation
  • Calf Rennet is considered the best for making cheese.

What is Vegetarian Rennet (Microbial Rennet Substitute)?

  • Microbial enzymes cleave the κ-casein on many positions. The
    gel-formation is different. There are more losses of casein and
    less retention of fat, minerals and vitamins in the curd.
    Therefore microbial rennet brings less yield in the production and a higher unspecific proteolysis (bitter-peptides) in maturation.
  • "Microbial Rennet" is accepted by Vegetarians, Muslims, and Jewish.
  • "Microbial Rennet" is by EC legislation also accepted for the production of organic cheeses.
  • This type of rennet can create a bitter taste in cheese.

Should I use powder, liquid or tablet rennet?

All three versions will work the same. The main differences are that tablets and powder will keep longer, but liquid rennet is easier to measure specific quantities.